Another stab at organization

Magazine holder close-ups by floating ink
Magazine holder close-ups, a photo by floating ink on Flickr.

The art supplies are taking over the house. In an effort to corral some of the papers and paints, tools, brushes, books, and so on, I spent a little check I got for Christmas on some Ikea shelving. While I was there I also grabbed some of these easy to assemble cardboard magazine holders:

This afternoon I pulled out a huge roll of heavy brown kraft paper, some of my hand carved stamps and some Stayz-on stamp ink, and started working up some covers for the plain white boxes. You can see I used my official weights to hold the curled up paper in place, and the very correct pizza boxes that I use to transport my stamps:*
Within an hour or so I had three neatly covered boxes, the ones you see at the top of this post. I’m pretty chuffed about them.  I’m especially pleased with the scissors stamps, which I made by photocopying my two favorite pairs of scissors, cutting out their paper images, then tracing them onto kids’ craft Foamies (is that what those sheets are called?), cutting them out (with their original real-life counterparts), then using a dead ball point pen to make impressions of their details before stamping with them.

Anyway, I think they look great in the new shelves. If only they didn’t show up the way-overdue-for-fresh-paint walls behind them!

___

*Thanks to a generous donation from a friend, I may soon have a much classier way to store and transport the stamps–stay tuned.

2 responses to “Another stab at organization

  1. Oh! Spiffy! The brown craft paper looks great. I’m not sure I could match your success covering the boxes; do you think one could stamp directly onto them since they are cardboard? Your shelves look fabulous. ~Leslie

  2. Thanks! I’m not sure how well stamping directly on the boxes would work–the cardboard these particular boxes are made of is corrugated, and I think it would leave little hills and valleys in the impression of the stamp. You’d probably need to start with smoother boxes. Still, covering them wasn’t that hard (though it would have given my gift-wrap-phobic husband fits)–it was like wrapping a slightly oddly shaped present.

Leave a Reply

