Blech, blech, blech

I often have soup for breakfast, and I appreciate really good, homemade soup. But the last time I was at the grocery store, a package of instant miso soup caught my eye. I like miso soup and it suddenly sounded like a good thing to eat for breakfast (I am not a bacon and eggs kind of girl–when I go out for breakfast with friends I order a cup of earl grey tea and a tuna sandwich–breakfast of champions). So I bought an envelope to try.

Which is still, as I write this, trickling down my sink drain. OMG, that was nasty stuff.  I didn’t make it through the first spoonful.

But now I have an unsatisfied craving to deal with. I’m tempted just to take some veggie or chicken broth, stir in a big spoonful of miso (a staple in my fridge) and add some cut up mushrooms. But it can’t be that easy, can it? Anyone have a good recipe?

Blech, blech, blech. Now I have to go rinse out my mouth with the quintessential Drain-O for humans: diet coke.

3 responses to “Blech, blech, blech

  1. While you can just stir a spoonful of miso into barely simmering water, it’s so easy to make dashi (the traditional miso soup base) that I’m going to be annoying and give you a recipe.

    Let a 3-4 inch piece of kombu sit in 2 cups of water for 15 minutes. Bring to a boil, simmer for a few minutes, then turn off the heat and sprinkle a big handful of bonito flakes on top. When they sink, after about a minute, drain the whole thing and stir in a tablespoon or so of miso.

    You will never buy instant again. And it’s spectacular for breakfast. It makes you strut around all day feeling healthy and superior.

  2. Hi, Ana! And thank you–healthy and superior is TOTALLY what I’m going for. I have miso here and I’ll hit the natural foods store for the kombu and the bonito as soon as I can dig out from the snow–may take a couple of days.

  3. I love Miso soup too and have been wanting to try to make it myself. Glad I have a recipe now from the comment above! I’ve always wondered about those prepared mixes…
    Thanks for your recent comment about Toad- so true! 🙂 Something that I need to keep in mind to balance my Capricorn tendencies.

Leave a Reply

