Thinking spring

You know the line–it’s 5:00 somewhere? One of my mottos, actually.

But these days have got me thinking, “It’s spring somewhere.” Here in New England you’d hardly have thought so during this past week. Last Sunday we found these overly ambitious violas in our front bed:

That was Sunday. Monday? Buried in snow. Tuesday? More snow. But yesterday as I went out for the mail, I saw a telltale bit of yellow peeking out from under a slowly melting crust of ice. They’re not back–they were there all along, quietly channeling spring for us.  So today I’m working on the assumption that it really is spring, even when we can’t see it yet. Though it doesn’t help (Mom, are you listening?) when my southern relatives blithely mention that the daffodils are up down there. Let’s not rub it in, okay?

A good week, with a little less work. Yeah, I know, but for once I was willing to sacrifice a wee bit (only a wee bit, okay, in case the prosperity gods are reading this) of income for a few days of sanity and breathing room.

Actually slept. Made real food for our dinners (though there was a slight disaster you can read about here and in the 4 or 5 posts that follow that one). Read for fun. And got out the art stuff.

A few weeks ago my Better Half and I went to New Haven to see a wonderful exhibit of Tea Arts at the Yale Art Gallery (scroll down to the middle of the page to see the exhibit description), which is there through April 26.  The tea things make up a tiny but so wonderful little show–two large rooms that you could walk through in 30 seconds, but where I happily spent over an hour. Beautiful old tea bowls, tea scoops, art and calligraphy related to these. I even bought the catalog, something I’ve never done for an art exhibit.

Anyway, no photography was allowed in these rooms (though I believe it is in some other parts of the Gallery), but I made a lot of sketches, including this one of a grouping of smoking implements resting in an old wooden box originally used for measuring rice:

One night this week I sat down and did a someawhat better version of it.

Neither of these do the thing justice, but it was wonderful to get to see them in person.  I love the way Japanese zen masters like Rikyu helped to turn the tea ceremony from something elaborate and ostentatious into something simpler and more down to earth. It was neat to see how some of the things that look like flowery scrolls are in fact simple notes–“let me know when you’re coming and I’ll grind some fresh tea for you,” for instance.

The exhibit really is quite small , but if you’re anywhere near New Haven, it’s worth a look in.

One response to “Thinking spring

  1. i was so happy just reading about the brave yellow flowers (and you have to be brave if you’re a living thing in new england), but now i MUST go to the tea exhibit. it sounds so amazing, and i love the work you did from it.

Leave a Reply

