And still more notebooks

Another day, a little more sleep.

Art notebooks.

After the wonderful art retreat I attended back in May, I was inspired to start a little notebook I could carry with my little watercolor field box. I don’t use it quite as much as I’d hoped I would (and insert here disclaimer about lack of traditional talent), but I’m having fun sketching in it when I can and adding color later when I get a chance.

Here, the little altar next to my desk This one was from a few months back, when we had scotch broom brightening up the front garden bed. I like this little altar; its base is a lovely cylindrical piece of driftwood that washed up on a nearby beach after a storm a few years ago. It’s only big enough for a tiny bottle for flowers, a little sauce dish doing duty as an incense holder, and a tea light candle. And poor old Kwan Yin looks rather addled. My dad, who was a real artist, couldn’t paint people, either.

But I had so much fun with that, I went on to start this (near) daily sketch book. This stapler is a fixture here on my desk–it’s the last thing that remains from a graduation box of office supplies some family friends gave me when I was leaving for college. Back, oh, coughcoughthirtythreeyearsagocoughcough.

They really don’t make ’em like they used to.

In the credit-where-credit-is-due department, my inspiration for having a daily sketch book comes from one of my favorite art blogs: Woolgathering.  Wow! I swear I did not plan this! Seriously–I just went over to Woolgathering’s site to copy the link for you, and look what’s on her page today!  Really, go and see–you can’t make this stuff up!

Cue the music:

I saw this tour when they came to New Haven. Yup, I’m wayyy older than that stapler.

Leave a Reply

