Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit (and a little contest)

Okay, I should have posted this earlier today, since, at least in Tennessee where I grew up, on the first day of every month, you’re supposed to say “Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” before you say anything else and before you get out of bed. Then you’re supposed to exit the bed by climbing out over the foot of it.

This little critter stamp I carved also kicks off my participation in Leah Piken Kolidas‘s November “art every day” challenge. See the elegant little periwinkle colored button over there on the right? If you want to play, too, click here to read more about it and to pick one of several great buttons she’s designed for the event for your own blog.

I may be out of my mind.  November is . . . well, November. Leading up to the holidays. The month of Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday. The month First Child comes home for a visit for the first time since heading off to his third year of college back in August. The month of Second Child’s trimester exams at school. The month I’ll be out of town for any number of days. The month of ramping up the holiday gift crafting.

And, oh, yeah, a pretty heavy duty month at work.*

But we’ll give it a shot.  I don’t promise to post something I’ve actually created myself every day, but I’m going to try hard to meet the challenge and post something having to do with my (or someone else’s) art every day.

Or some found art.

Or something from the literary arts.

Or the martial arts (I knew I should have gotten a nice photo of the first board I broke–I splintered it so artistically).

And maybe–if I can find a way to keep the intended recipients from peeking–I can use this as an incentive to get some art-related gifts done and posted.

Stay tuned.

BTW, I’ll send a litte handmade rabbit, rabbit, rabbit gift to the first person who posts a comment that successfully explains where the first-day-of-the-month rabbit ritual comes from. Leave your email so I can get in touch with you.

———

*Could I make a believable case for deadline meeting to be an art?

4 responses to “Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit (and a little contest)

  1. Rabbit, Rabbit, Rabbit:
    “The exact origin of the superstition is certainly unknown, though it has appeared in print at least as early as 1420[citation needed] in England, where it is most commonly said to have originated, though some reports place its origins even earlier, into the 1200s. Today it has spread to most of the English-speaking countries of the world, although like all folklore, determining its exact area of distribution is difficult. This superstition is related to the broader belief in the rabbit or hare being a “lucky” animal, as exhibited in the practice of carrying a rabbit’s foot for luck.

    “Some have also believed it is representing a jumping into the future and moving ahead with life and happiness.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rabbit_rabbit

  2. I’d never heard of that tradition before… don’t get it now either after reading connies comment, hehe. Great stamp though – good luck, I thin NOvember will be fun!

  3. Connie–you’re the winner. Sending you an email so I can get your snail address.

    And thanks!

  4. Hi! I found your blog thru your comment on Woolgathering re: the stapler. You’ve already inspired me to craft some gifts myself. I’m from Calif. originally and had never heard of Rabbit Rabbit until moving to Maine. At the office where I work, it is a game some people play on the first of each month, where you try to be the first person to say it when you meet someone. They sometimes get very creative, like leaving stuffed rabbits on someone’s desk for them to find first thing in the morning. There are no prizes, but they are very competitive about it! It’s always good for some laughs.

Leave a Reply

