Unraveled

I’m new to Ravelry (just got my invitation a couple of weeks ago) and am still trying to find my way around there.  Right now I’m mostly just lost but definitely enjoying the view as I wander around among all the beautiful knits. My friend Beth taught me to knit while we were both in graduate school a good ways back, and I was hooked immediately. I’ve knitted for years now, sometimes obsessively, sometimes at a more–shall we say leisurely–pace, and sometimes going through periods, such as after my dad died and I’d spent many hours knitting as I sat with him during his last few months, not being able to pick the needles up at all.

I’m starting up again after a little hiatus (no trauma this time, just distracted by other things, most of them good) and am determined to get back to doing a little simple pattern designing, so I’m especially glad to have Ravelry there for encouragement. As part of starting to find my way around on the site I started entering some completed projects (I’ll get to the WIPS* sooner or later) into my Ravelry notebook. There are only tiny thumbnails on the site, so I thought I’d post a few pictures with more detail here.

These mittens (2 pair) I knitted in the fall of 2006. The wool felt embroidery was inspired by Margrit Lohrer’s Molas Mittens from this wonderful book:

Chicken mittens (with detail):

and dog mittens:

I miss Lohrer’s brick-and-mortar shop, Sheep’s Clothing, something awful, but at least there’s still an online shop selling the wonderful merino wool from her sheep.

If you’re a Ravelry-er (Raveler?), stop by–my name there is also floatingink–and take a look.

___

*For the benefit of non-knitters, a WIP is a work in progress.

One response to “Unraveled

  1. Congratulations on your invitation to Ravelry! I know what a big deal this is due to reading Franklin’s blog. Your art is just growing by leaps and bounds! Can’t wait to see the new stuff you start designing and knitting.

Leave a Reply

