Drive-by poetry

I like to keep my eyes open for found poetry, but sometimes it finds me instead. It’s a raw, rainy day here today, reminding me of one of my favorite finds. It was a little too big to pick up and put in my pocket, and of course I didn’t have my camera with me that day, so I hope you’ll pardon me if I quote it from memory.

It was raining hard that day, and I was tooling along I-95 when I spotted one of those portable highway department signs at the side of the road. You know, the kind they put up to warn you of construction or delays ahead. This one flashed its message in three successive screens:

CAUTION CAUTION

WHEN RAINING

PUDDLING

There might be hope for all of us if even the highway department as a poetic soul.

Leave a Reply

