Another fabulous art night

This time at the home of a friend who really did it up royally–a dozen or so of us showed up in her (really amazing) home to find art supplies of every variety arranged on tables–wet media here, dry media there, stamping stuff in this corner (stamps are dry but inks are wet–decisions, decisions), gesso and all kinds of gel media and molding paste, jars of brushes and clean water, a sewing machine set up and ready for use. And, of course, a table of wines and sodas and the kettle on for tea. Every time I thought, “Oh, I wish I’d brought my X,” or “Too bad we don’t have any Y,” I’d raise my head and the needed item would be right there. It was like having all your art dreams come true.

We all brought our own offerings: paper and other ephemera, tools and toys, and something to add to the dinner table to go with the amazing veggie chili our hostess had made. Yummy things everywhere you looked.

I wish I had a photo of each of the beautiful or funny or elegant works that were produced that night. The emphasis was on smalls (ATC sized) but there were larger things, too, and a number of small books made on the tiny bound pads of nice paper that had been provided for us.

I even took advantage of our patron’s insistence that we take some papers and cards home with me, so, at least at my house, the party’s still going strong.

 

Leave a Reply

